Located in the heart of the historic district, nestled beneath century-old magnolias, The Stratton House at 198 Natchez is one of Collierville’s oldest and most historic homes. The house was built by Dr. Asa Stratton in 1859 as the residence of Dr. Stratton and his wife, Mary Elizabeth Stratton. Dr. Stratton was a Collierville merchant, physician, land investor, and alderman. After graduating from Memphis Medical College in 1848, he began practicing in Collierville where he also became a member of the firm Moore and Stratton, dealers in general merchandise. On July 10, 1849, he married Miss Mary Elizabeth Chamberlain, a native of Connecticut. Mrs. Stratton taught in a one-room school house in the back yard of the house, the cornerstone of which is still on the property. When Collierville was incorporated by an act passed on February 17, 1870, Dr. Stratton served as one of the first town aldermen.
The Strattons’ daughter, Mary Eudora, succeeded her parents as owner of the home, where she and her husband, Turner Humphreys, lived for the rest of their lives. The Humphreys’ daughter, Maude, and her husband, Paul Baker, engaged W.W. McGinnis to remodel the home in 1914, incorporating a kitchen, adding two rooms, and extending the impressive front porch.
The house was left mostly untouched for over one hundred years...
In 2015, Katie and Hampton Parr embarked on a major renovation project, preserving the historic character and details of the house while adding a more modern kitchen, building out the attic space, and adding a back patio to rival the front porch in its welcoming charm and beauty.
198 Natchez has been in the Stratton family since it was built. The current owner, Hampton Parr, is Dr. Stratton’s great-great-great grandson. He inherited the ancestral home from his grandmother, Elizabeth Baker Parr, who was born in the house in 1908 and died there in 2011 at the age of 103.